Speaking of taking time to re-charge…I treated myself to a pedicure last week at the beauty school.  Usually they do a great job.   I guess I’ve always lucked out with a great student.   For some reason, I always seem to get the newb. And this one was beyond young (I’m guessing not even 20 yrs old here) and very inexperienced.  Trusting in the school, I let her work on my feet knowing full well that if I had any concerns that I should stop her immediately and ask for the instructor.

Poor girl…she knew what had to be done.   It became clear that she had the textbook smarts but not enough practical time. Hey, thats why she was there, right?  When it came time for the instructor to check her work, she politely stepped in and um…repainted my ALL my toes. You see, the newb – bless her heart – was trying so hard that some toes got only 2 coats (as is the norm) while other toes got 6-7 coats.  Even the instructor had that smile on her face. Poor newb.

This week I got a  ‘do over’.  (Honestly, tell me you’d turn down a free pedicure – NOT)  My girlfriend decided to join me though she wasn’t getting any services performed and after an excellently successful pedicure – FOR FREE – we decided to do lunch.

I decided to intro her to a local thai place (Bua Thai) that I had frequented in previous years while I was working.  Its a quaint little place, great fast & friendly service with very reasonable prices and tasty food.

20120607-123843.jpg

Appetizer:  spring rolls & tofu soup

20120607-123910.jpg

Entree: chicken pad thai

(Visit their website: http://www.buathai.ca/)

