What is it about this store that makes everyone go  “Oooh!” ?  I mean this one store practically sells everything under the sun needed for your home AND they even have an affordable cafeteria style bistro for your dining pleasure which offers hot meals which consists of their famous meatballs with lingonberry sauce to grilled fish and pasta dishes etc.  If you’re too much in a rush for a delicious and quick sit down meal, they even have a canteen just across from the check out to tempt/entice you which conveniently sells hot dogs, frozen yoghurt, drinks and their ever so famous – cinnamon buns! Mmmm…..Ok, so back to reality here.

I still haven’t figured out what the allure of this store is. Even I will admit, pulling up to the store gets me excited.  Walking through their beautifully arranged (and cleverly marketed if you ask me) show rooms & vignettes put me in awe. Such simple design with everything they sell all beautifully laid out. Your mind starts to wander.

“If I buy this shelving unit with its matching storage boxes, I could finally get my front entryway organized therefore making it appear less awkward and cluttered.”  Followed by a “Then it will be so open so I could put this pretty thing in the corner by the door to make it look funky”.  [I tell yas, those marketing people truly ARE clever. Or sneaky.]

Almost everyone I’ve ever known simply can not set foot into Ikea without leaving with something that wasn’t on their shopping list – even those friends with such great strength and determination to say NO to a huge slab of chocolate cake sitting in front of them.

This store just makes you WANT.   And a lot of the time, you’re just buying “stuff”.  Now if you’re someone that is great at putting the “stuff” they buy to use, then this store could be great for you. For the most part, I see the masses at the check out buying a lot of lil things and usually there’s a theme to it and then there’s the odd scraggler “stuff” item.  Totally an impulse buy.

Don’t get me wrong – I. Love. Ikea.  I have gone there to buy furniture and housewares etc.  I’ve also gone there just for lunch. And yes, I’ve even gone in there to window shop, gather ideas on how I could benefit from having their products in my house thus making it more organized and feel like a “home”.   I tell yas, such great marketing!

Ikea – they always find a way to get you to part with your money.

So tell me, why do you love Ikea? (OR why do you dislike it?)

