My family decided to gather to celebrate Father’s Day a day early in case the festivities ran later into the evening as planned. My sister hosted a BBQ to also celebrate everyone’s birthday as well.

Seeing that I like to bake & let my “inner domestic goddess” out once in a while, I tried to find a dessert that would be worthy. My sister is currently on a gluten free/lactose free diet so I hunted the interwebz for a suitable dessert. Everything I came across called for all those specialty ingredients necessary for gluten free baking.

Then I ran across this recipe for a Gluten Free Pumpkin Applesauce Bundt Cake.  I mean, who doesnt love a bundt cake?! The shape in itself speaks volumes especially since it seems that the bundt has long since been forgotten.

20120616-204657.jpg

This is how I started…

20120616-204704.jpg

…which then turned into this yummy goodness…

20120616-204726.jpg

…which then turned out like this for the final product.   My entire family “Ooooh’ed” and “Aaahhh’ed” when I placed this on the table and told them what it was.  I had only baked with rice flour once before and it was a flop.  I was not feeling the most confident.  My sister was delighted that it was gluten free so that she’d get to eat dessert as well.  That made me happy.

20120616-204752.jpg

Actually, THIS made me most happy.  Everyone decided to try the cake vs the store bought apple turnovers she had bought for dessert.  Success!! I can’t wait to try this recipe again with a few suggested tweaks even though everyone said they liked it how it was made tonight.

Talk about me being one happy girl! 🙂

Happy Father’s Day to all the dad’s out there!

