During our drive down through Southern Ontario en route to Windsor, ON to celebrate our first year anniversary, I couldn’t help notice how much the area around Leamington, ON had changed over the years. It had been at least five or more years since I was last down that way.

The one thing I couldn’t help but notice was how ‘eco’ it has become.


20120725-163534.jpg
The fields are scattered with wind turbines as was the horizon.

20120725-163543.jpg

There was some sort of solar farm as well.

20120725-163554.jpg

And of course, no trip through the farmlands of Southern Ontario is complete without a shower of fresh hay escaping from the bales! LOL

Source

Random facts about Leamington, ON – its known as the Tomato Capital of Canada, home to a large Heinz factory with a 4 km² crop of tomatoes, the town’s water tower is in the shape of a giant tomato and lastly, there’s a tomato festival each August!

20120725-163604.jpg

Today’s lunch:  fresh vine tomatoes with jack cheese on a toasted chiabatta bun smeared with plenty of  homemade aioli.

Lastly, while I was making myself some lunch today….I totally thought of Leamington.

