As the summer keeps rolling on,  I noticed my basil plant was starting to seed or flower.  I decided to hack it down to the bare roots and let it re-grow for round two.  (Secretly hoping I didn’t kill it!)  I harvested all I could from the trimmed basil stems, washed and dried them.

I’ve always wanted to try my hand at homemade pesto but sadly I had no nuts in the house and wasn’t about to add PB to the mix ‘to try’ LOL  Instead,  I decided to leave it at basil and garlic.   Start simple right?

20120730-160934.jpg

I’ll admit, I did cheat and use store bought, pre-minced garlic.


As you can see, I do not have a food processor and have read numerous horror stories about failed homemade pesto attempts done in a blender BUT I had an idea!  (yes I know, I’m not making a pesto but close enough)

20120730-160946.jpg

In the blender: basil leaves and EVOO

I tried my lil trick and discovered that it worked.   Don’t get me wrong, it was painstakingly slow but I kept at it!

20120730-161002.jpg

Adding in more basil leaves, EVOO and now garlic as it started to finally ‘blend’.  At this point, you can start to do a taste test and decide upon how much salt & pepper you’d like to add.

20120730-161016.jpg

Voila! Homemade basil-garlic sauce.

I chose to freeze it since we will not be using it right away.   My plan is to thaw it the night before we grill up some steaks and veggies and use it on a side of freshly boiled pasta. Maybe even serve the pasta chilled?

Do you make your own pesto or other variations on basil based sauces?

