FoodWasteFriday

Booo! Literally 24 hours after I posted that I had no food wasted last week, I found my store bought cilantro drooped and slimy. You see, I saw this post over at Go Gingham about how to make your herbs last and thought I’d give it whirl. So far, the first whirl didn’t seem to work. I plan on trying it again but instead, placing the vase/glass in the fridge to see if it will last longer then 36 hours. I’m leery b/c a glass is likely to be toppled in the fridge as dad roots around looking for things so maybe I’ll use a tall food storage container instead? What do you think? There’s no pic b/c I don’t think anyone wants needs to see rotting mush & slimy cilantro.

BTW: I’m not saying that this trick won’t work for others, it just didn’t seem to want to work for me.

Onto this week’s waste. 😦

20120820-115944.jpg

Tossed: handful of grapes. You can see why (mold)

20120824-104152.jpg

Tossed: 1.5c of spaghetti meat sauce

Apparently taking dad’s word for 3 weeks straight didn’t sit well with me and when I opened it, I found blobs of mold starting to unite. Glad I didn’t wait another week b/c imagine opening up that hot mess in full mold mode?! Blech!

20120824-104215.jpg

Tossed: 1 lonely clementine

It was hidden underneath the freshly purchased fruit. Apparently dad just tosses everything (new) in on top while I put the older stuff on top to help it get eaten up first.

So how did you fare this week? What did you end up tossing?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste.

