As I’m trying to keep up with with tomatoes as the garden keeps cranking them out – I thought I’d try my hand at making a tomato pie vs  saucing the tomatoes or eating them fresh. Not that I’m complaining or anything. Just looking for variety.

To start, I pre-baked the pie crust using the leftover dough from dad’s homemade chicken pot pie.  I only  needed  a bottom crust and thats exactly the amount of dough that was leftover. Score!! How’s that for no waste?

20120820-121816.jpg

I had to seed and dice tomatoes – enough to yield about 3 cups.

20120820-121840.jpg

Chop up a whole med/large onion

20120820-121900.jpg
Layer onions on the bottom, followed by the diced tomatoes and sprinkle of freshly chopped basil on top.  There was a mayo/cheese topping to be spread a top the tomato/basil layer as well.  Off to the oven it went.

20120820-121910.jpg
And this is what it looks like when its ready. The mayo/cheese topping should be golden brown and bubbly (approx 25-45mins). Let set for before cutting/serving so that the juices have a chance to reabsorb and redistribute.

I will admit that I was quite unsure of how the tomato pie would turn out and if I’d like it, let alone the hubster and dad.  The concept was very basic and I took liberties to season with what I had in my cupboards where I thought necessary and I’m glad that I did. I think it made it a tastier version compared to the original recipe.  I’ve already received a request to make it again! This is a great way to use up garden fresh tomatoes if you’re ever in a pinch. Pretty quick and easy.

Have you ever tried or made your own version of tomato pie? How did it turn out?

