20121015-144819.jpg

While out picking up a few things at the discount grocery store one afternoon, I happened to pass an end cap with the HERR’S brand of chips. I’m talking floor to ceiling display offering a variety of flavours.  Then I saw the price tag at the top of the display. $1.99. Let me tell you – these bags are huge! Larger then the normal big bag of chips (without bordering into the ‘family’ or ‘jumbo’ sizes)

Tempted by PMS? fate…I had to grab one to try especially since I’d never heard/seen this brand before.  Figuring since I was all on a risk taking mood, I grabbed a flavour that was very out of the norm – Baby Back Ribs.  I mean, c’mon..there’s buffalo wings, blue cheese, bacon flavoured chips but RIBS?!

The hubster and I finally got to cracking open the bag this past weekend. Let me just say that after the first few chips we ate, we turned to each other with this uncertainty.  Then we started analyzing it.  There was a hint of smokiness, sweet, tangy-zip like a BBQ sauce along with a bacon’ish flavour. Just like ribs! (imagine that) It was an odd combo but it worked!  Would I buy it again? Sure, only if the hubster requested it.  I’m more of a plain regular chip kinda gal.

So if you’re out and about and see this brand, give it a whirl and let me know what you think.   What’s the most oddest flavour potato chips have you tried? Was it a hit or miss?

