FoodWasteFriday

20121019-104023.jpg

This weeks waste…not so minimal if you ask me. 😦

In the pic:
* 1/2 kg plain yoghurt
* sad green pepper
* jar mango chutney
* zucchini seeds (saved for roasting)
* homemade strawberry jam (that was pulled from the freezer)

The yoghurt was pushed to the back of the fridge by – guess who – dad. He told me it was his leftover soup in the “Chinese Tupperware”. That will teach me to listen to him when my ‘spidy senses’ are tingling. Next time I’m opening it to check.

Same story with the zuc seeds…had saved them to see if they roast up the same as pumpkin seeds but they too went MIA.

The mango chutney – have no clue where that came from. Never tried it before so why would I buy it? I suspect it was my sisters doing when she was visiting…you know, trying to give food a chance when she’s gifted something she wouldn’t eat. I know she wouldn’t buy it either *lol*

The jam was an experiment. It was tasty when it was freshly made but something about the texture that just didn’t carry through after freezing. Ick.

The green pepper is self explanatory and the lemon actually was not wasted. Hooray!! I thought it was a goner but it was still good to go so I finished it off last night. I had only used part of it for the juice but there was plenty of juice left in it. Oh, FYI those round Ziploc containers are really airtight!

So, how’d you do this week?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

