Over the holidays, I decided to try my hand at making a breakfast casserole.   Having never really made one, it sounded simple enough. As usual, I took to the internet and found that a lot of the recipes called for cream cheese or a can of  cream of ___ soup.   I skipped over those recipes as I was hoping for something somewhat healthy.  It was hard to find one recipe that I liked as a whole so I decided to wing it instead.

20130105-210425.jpg
This is what I came up with:  started with a layer of hash brown style potatoes, a thin layer of shredded cheese followed by a mixed layer of diced onions, bell peppers & green onions, then a layer of seasoned browned ground pork topped with cheese & remainder of diced veggies to make it look purdy on top. 😉   I poured a mixture of seasoned eggs & milk over top and gave the pan a lil shake and a couple of bangs on the counter to help the egg mixture coat everything with its yummy goodness.

20130105-210451.jpg
Looks pretty good if you ask me.

20130105-210507.jpg
Baked for about an hour at 350*F.
I used the knife test to ensure that the eggs had cooked through.

20130105-210534.jpg
Voila!

As delicious as it was, I’ll admit that I’ll be making a few tweaks for round two. The wonderful hubster said it was tasty and it was but for some reason, I thought it was going to be super spectacular.  I guess this is where the cream cheese/cream of ___ soups come into play?

Going forward, I think I’ll use less potatoes and mix the cooked meat, cheese & veggies into the egg mixture before pouring over the potato layer, ensuring that everything is submerged in the egg mixture.

Since I made the casserole from scratch, I knew every ingredient that went into it and was also able to control the fat and salt content. Bonus if you ask me.   Would I make this again? Oh heck yes! Especially since it made 8 good sized portions.   We had plenty of leftovers and those my friends, made my weekend even easier. 🙂

Have you tried making a breakfast casserole? Do you have a favourite recipe?

