FoodWasteFriday
Unfortunately – there was waste this morning. I went to pack up the last lil bit of salad for the hubsters lunch and EW!  Its one thing to see that something is heading past its prime but to see liquid at the bottom of the container= DO NOT EAT for me. If I won’t eat it, I certainly wouldn’t serve it to others to eat!

In case you’re wondering – I prepare a tub of salad for the week and usually we get through it by the end of 5 days max. This always means we have fresh salad ready to serve up at a moment’s notice. I’ve been prepping my salad this way for the past year or so and it’s been a great time saver for those days where there’s nothing substantial to pack for the hubsters lunch OR if we’ve lost track of time and need to get dinner together ASAP.  But this week I thought I’d try to be budget conscious as the price of leaf lettuce was over $2.50/head at most grocery stores and in lieu of my trusty leaf lettuce (or romaine) I used head/iceburg lettuce. Now I remember why we don’t use this type of lettuce for salads.  It turns more quickly (ayuck!) and in the end is a waste of money.

So sad to waste that last serving of salad 😦

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

