I decided to try my hand at making hummus. I keep reading about how easy and more economical it is to make your own PLUS you can control not only what goes into it but how strong certain flavours will be.   Seeing that I had most of the ingredients on hand, I thought I’d give it a whirl.  The only thing I had to buy was a teeny bit of tahini from the bulk store – wasn’t going to commit to a jar unless this was going to be something I enjoy and will make often.  (BTW: What is up with tahini only being sold in large jars?!)   The last thing I need is to find a jar of fuzzy tahini waving back at me as I open it to see if its still good LOL – After all, I’m on this whole ‘no waste’ kick right? 😉

20130326-133104.jpg
First, I opened a can of chick peas, drained & rinsed them before adding to the blender.

20130326-133126.jpg

Next, I added about a really healthy rounded teaspoon of jarred homemade minced garlic. (trust me, this is some seriously garlicky hummus, start with much less and add more as desired)

20130326-133201.jpg

Followed by a very generous squeeze of lemon juice and about 2 tablespoons worth of tahini.

20130326-133246.jpg
I gave everything a good blitz with the blender and well, it didn’t turn out so well.  It made a whole lot of noise without a whole lot of ‘blending’ if you know what I mean.  I added water by the 1/3 cupful’s to help it along while stopping to scrape down the sides with a spatula.

In the end, I think it was about 1c of water that was added, plenty more lemon juice then I thought I’d need originally and a light glug of EVOO to help with the flavour and texture.  After it was all said and done, it appeared to be of a thin consistency. (Don’t forget to taste as you go. After it was blended to my desired consistency, I added some salt and white pepper to taste.)

20130326-133253.jpg
This batch made a full 2c Ziploc container as pictured above.  I’ve let it sit overnight in the fridge to help the flavours get to know one another better and the garlic flavour has mellowed out, its not overly salty as I find the store bought versions and has a nice lemony zing to it.  It also thickened up so so I think this recipe is a keeper! *thumbs up*  Not bad for just ‘winging’ it huh?

What about you? Have you tried your hand at making your own hummus? Any suggestions or tips for flavour combo’s that I should try next?  

