My family loves Pizza Hut.  Not only is it costly but unhealthy to boot. What really sealed the deal for me, the post oven ‘garlic spray’.  Not sure if I was supposed to see that last step but when I saw it, I totally called them out on it.  “Uh, its garlic spray” said the man as he continued to spray. Ehrm. 😦  Looked more like spray oil if you asked me – which totally explains the grease that drips down your hand as you’re trying to eat it.  Thus born the necessity of learn how to make homemade pizza.

20130523-155442.jpgPizza toppings: two types of cheese, pepperoni and homemade pizza sauce

20130422-103647.jpgMore toppings: leftover cubed chicken breast, onions & peppers

20130422-103709.jpgWhole wheat crust, partially baked. (yes its store bought dough)

20130422-103744.jpgLoaded and ready for the oven!

20130422-103800.jpgWho’s ready for dinner? 🙂

Now, while I didn’t do a full analysis of what it costs to make a homemade pizza vs store bought – I do have a good idea.  When we buy 2 – large pizza’s it’s about $45 taxes in.  What I made here cost about $7-$10 for a 9×13 pan. While the size isn’t the same, it’d still be less if I made two pizzas.  Also, this is a deluxe pizza with cubed chicken breast and an extra cup of cheese – normally I only use one.    End result = every bit just as yummy as Pizza Hut (in its own way) for much less in terms of calories and cost. The ultimate bonus, both men love it!  To me, that’s a win!

