FoodWasteFriday

Oy!  What a week.  I hate to admit this let alone share this but there has been plenty of waste around here.   During my usual Tuesday night fridge inventory, organize and clean out, I found the mother load of spoils.  I had been taking dad’s word for the vegetable produce – if it was OK, if we had enough. Well! We had more then enough. So much so that the veggie drawer was overflowing with rotting vegetables. It was like they were starting a coup or something.  Let’s just say that I should be thankful that everything was in produce bags and that the liquids stayed contained in the drawer.

Wasted:  12lbs of carrots, 1 head/bunch of celery, a large head of romaine lettuce and 1/2 bag of spinach. Yes. I said 12lbs of carrots.

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

