FoodWasteFriday

Last year, we had a very small issue with pantry bugs (which you can read about here).  We are just over the one year mark and we seem to be revisiting that issue again.    Those OXO Pop  Up food storage containers have been wonderful AS LONG AS you use them properly.  I had chosen those food containers due to their shape (square vs round which maximizes storage space / has less off a footprint) as well as their ease of use.  Maybe they’re ‘too easy’ to use as I had to throw out a 5.5qt container of all purpose flour along with 2 x 2qt containers of pasta because those pantry bugs found their way in through the improperly sealed tops.  Sadly, I’m going to have to point the finger at dad because I have OCD with making sure those puppies are sealed properly each time I use one.  (Yes, I make sure the door is locked twice before leaving as well :P)

So that’s my food waste this week, pantry items.  It seems that as soon as I focus on one area, another one seems to flare up.   With the heat upon us now (or rain?) I guess its time to be super diligent with monitoring ALL the food in the kitchen to prevent waste.

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

