Hooray! We survived the longest blackout ever. Well it felt like it but it was only 43-44 hrs long.  It wasn’t as bad as the big blackout back in 2003 that took out the Northeast.  However I do disagree with the Wikipedia post – we went 6 days without power back then, not two. We made the best of the situation at hand by staying indoors with the windows/doors closed to retain what bit of dry cooler air that we had as it was oppressively humid out.  And in the evenings, we’d sit out back for as long as possible to maximize the light exposure.  We’re very fortunate that we have a gas stove, running water and a pantry full of options that did not need refrigeration.

We chose to endure the abundance of idiotic people who thought they were important enough to have to go through the intersections first or better yet, not needing to stop at major cross streets at all that had no working traffic lights just to get to an area that did  have power for take out food, drink & basics, relief from the black out, change of scenery, air conditioning and the ability to charge our cell phone’s.  Also, if you use cable/VoIP for telephone service, you’d have no access to a phone. If you had a cell phone, you’d be lucky enough to get connected to any cell tower as the local ones were out as well, thus draining your cell battery quicker as it continually had to look for that signal.  Luckily for us, we still have an old school land line that always works. We were able to make and receive calls as needed updating family members of our situation and receiving updates as well since we had no other means of what was going on around us.  My sister (not affected) was kind enough to call us a few times daily especially since the hydro outage hotline was constantly busy.

I’m still in the middle of trying to get the house organized and set up as ‘our’ home and donating/purging things that aren’t needed. In doing so, I have come across things that I had forgotten or didn’t realize I had.  There were even some things where I wondered why I even had it in the first place etc. Point being, it makes for a great chance to take a mental inventory of what is currently on hand and where they’ve been placed.   I remembered where the box of tea lights and tea light holders were! Those definitely came in handy. The blackout wasn’t so bad when you weren’t submerged 100% in the dark.   Thank you Ikea 😉

Getting through this blackout has made me re-think what we should have on hand at all times ‘just in case’. Some things we already have on hand but I think I’d feel more comfortable supplementing our stock.  While I let this thought float about in my head, I’ll leave you with these – a Basic Emergncy Kit Check List and Additional Emergency Supplies Checklist and Emergency Car Kit Checklist

How do you get through emergencies like this? Do you have everything you  want/need on hand? How prepared are you?

