FoodWasteFriday
Been busting my rear trying to ensure we do not waste food in this house this week. Have turned leftovers into planned-overs, used them up any way possible or just threw them into the freezer. Despite my efforts, there’s still waste.  Doesn’t help that the darling hubster had wonky work hours this week and I was sick for a couple of days.

Wasted: a produce sized bag of mini croissants which had some sort of sweet filling inside which is odd because I had asked the bakery if they were plain croissants with no filling,  they said they were. WRONG.  That cost me $3 – well maybe not the whole $3 as we did manage to eat a few but they were pushed to the back of the shelf to die.  Found all molded today.  Ick.  Also tossed out, 1/2 of each leftover grilled taters & peppers from a week ago.  I only tossed b/c I didn’t think it was safe to eat – it doesn’t smell but why take the chance? And half a pint of blueberries – I picked through them and used the good ones up in a smoothie 🙂

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

