FoodWasteFriday

Wah-wah. Found 2 x 1/2 pints of blackberries waving at me from the back of the shelf in the fridge. How they got shoved way back there … well, we already know how things get shoved to the back of my fridge left to die 😉  I’m sad because I LOVE blackberries.  I guess I need to be more diligent with the fridge clean out. Kinda been getting ‘lax with it being pregnant and all.  We’ve been cooking up a storm and eating through all the leftovers but its hard to know what is what when your fridge is full of unlabeled margarine containers. Don’t get me wrong – we do have clear/transparent food storage containers but dad’s preference is using the margarine tubs aka ‘Chinese Tupperware’.  Its to the point where I can’t keep up with the labeling of them 😦 Onwards & upwards I say. Here’s to hoping next week is better!

Edited to add: There has been a long standing margarine tub of sauce floating around our fridge. Usually we eat spaghetti quite often so we often roll the leftover remnants of the sauce into the next batch but for some reason dad decided to boycott it and bounce it off of our weekly rotation.  The sauce has now been sitting there for 3 weeks+. Each time I’ve asked to put it into the freezer, I was met with dad shouting his displeasure. So there it sat. Today – he wanted to know if I thought it should be a spaghetti night and I said “Sure. Its been a while. Kinda miss it.” But then I added a stipulation – ONLY if he made a FRESH batch of sauce and we could toss the old. He agreed and while he was agreeing, I’ll admit it – I was almost done emptying the contents of that old sauce in to the compost bin – so he couldn’t roll it into the new batch of sauce sneakily.  Am I evil for doing that??

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

