FoodWasteFriday
Ugh – long time no update but I’ve been busy trying trying to find the right balance in terms of running errands, grocery shopping, doctor appointments and taking care of the lil one. During that process, a lot of produce has gone through the fridge and into the compost bucket.  My sister tried to help and kept making our weekly tub of salad for us but her way ie trying to make the produce go further by dicing things super fine. Where I’d use 2 bell peppers for the tub, she’d use 3/4 of one.  As a result, it was much harder to eat, so we didn’t when she wasn’t here to dish it up for us.   She also tried to help by buying produce for the hubster’s lunches. He’s not picky by any means, nor am I – we’ll pretty each anything – but for some reason her selection was not appetizing. So that sat for a couple of weeks until it’s time came and went.

This week’s waste – 1/2 of a steak, coleslaw, an avocado and a handful of grapes. All things that got pushed to the back or hidden. Booo!

How’d you do?

BTW: Happy 4th of July to my US readers 🙂

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

