FoodWasteFriday

We have waste 😦 On Friday out went 1lb of blueberries and 1lb of strawberries, 1 crushed nectarine and 1 yellow bell pepper beyond saving. As usual, over shopping has been the culprit. I had popped out earlier this week and took dad with me then my sister came later in the end of the week taking him shopping again. Over purchasing produce is our main culprit however we do eat a high volume of it. So, how much is too much?  I’ve tried having this conversation with my dad and he agrees but he’s the one going shopping twice in a week so he should be the one to realize what we have at home. Having said that, my sister tends to shop with my dad at the Asian markets (while I hit up the discount grocery stores) and shops the deals but then splits them with us. 

Example 4 for $5 – whatever produce item. She’ll take 1 or 2 depending on what it is then leave the rest here. I don’t know about it so I’m not conscious about eating it/using it up before it spoils.

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)

