FoodWasteFriday I am back. Kind of. Sort of. Well, we’ll see how we this goes shall we? LOL

Been MIA for a short while but life has definitely given me another lil adventure.  I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy back in April (announcement can be read here) and have been focusing on him vs what’s been thriving and dying in my fridge.  Hrm. That sounded awkward. Anyhooo….due to the hiatus, the fridge contents have been left to fend for themselves and thrive and survive with my dad and sister caring after them.  I know a plethora of produce had been wasted and to be honest, I didn’t care.

Finally able to settle into some sort of a ‘non-routine routine’ – I’m starting to re-take inventory of the fridge contents and have been trying to use/eat up anything starting to turn/spoil. Frankly, I’m enjoying the semi-full fridge vs the usual overstuffed version.  This is partly due to my dad only being able to carry so much back from the grocery store daily (its a bit of a small walk for him) and my sister only popping by once a week or so to take him out to run his errands and do his shopping.

Hopefully next week, I’ll be back to start reporting again, trying to keep our household accountable and save money (as its truly needed elsewhere now 😉 ) Wish me luck!

How’d you do?

On Friday’s, I share what food items that I have ‘wasted’ by letting spoil during the week from forgetfulness and/or neglect. Kristen over at The Frugal Girl has inspired me to publicly post in hopes of reducing waste. (Food Waste Friday is now being co-hosted every other week with Simply Being Mum – pop on over to take a peek!)